View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Wrangler
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Location: Alexandria, VA, USA
|
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:25 pm Post subject: Can't get UVLayout plug-in to run in Maya 2011/64-bit Win 7 |
|
|
I downloaded the UVLayout Maya Plug-in v2 and installed the XPM files into this directory:
N:\Documents\maya\2011-x64\prefs\icons
I installed the shelf MEL into this directory:
N:\Documents\maya\2011-x64\prefs\shelves
And I installed the uvlayout_open.mel into this directory:
N:\Documents\maya\scripts
(Note that b/c I have a relatively small SSD as my primary drive, I don't store document files there lest they eat up all my space.)
I modified the uvlayout_open.mel script so that the path to UVLayout is indicated as:
//Path to UVLayout
global proc string uvlayout_home()
{
if( 'about -win')
{
return "C:/Program Files (x86)/headus UVLayout v2 Professional";
// return "C:/Program Files/headus UVLayout v2 Hobbyist";
// return "C:/Program Files/headus UVLayout v2 Demo";
// return "C:/Program Files (x86)/headus UVLayout v2 Demo";
// return "C:/Program Files (x86)/headus UVLayout v2 Hobbyist";
// return "C:/Program Files/headus UVLayout v2 Professional";
}
else
{
return "/Applications/headus-UVLayout-Demo.app";
// return "/Applications/headus-UVLayout-Hobby.app";
// return "/Applications/headus-UVLayout-Pro.app";
}
}
When I click the Info button on the UVLayout shelf in Maya I get the following error message:
uvlayout_open;
// Error: 
//
// Error: Syntax error //
When I click the Run button on the UVLayout shelf in Maya I get the following error message:
uvlayout_run;
// Error: Cannot find procedure "uvlayout_run". //
When I click the Send button on the UVLayout shelf in Maya I get the following error message:
uvlayout_send;
// Error: Cannot find procedure "uvlayout_send". //
When I click the Stop button on the UVLayout shelf in Maya I get the following error message:
uvlayout_stop;
// Error: Cannot find procedure "uvlayout_stop". //
objExport.mll is loaded in Maya.
It's not obvious to me what I've done wrong, but clearly it's something. I would very much like to get this malfunction corrected as soon as possible so that I can use UVLayout from within Maya instead of merely as a stand-alone application.
Many thanks to anyone who can offer assistance.
Scott |
|
Back to top |
|
|
headus Site Admin
Posts: 2899
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
|
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Looks like something is wrong in the MEL script, but the changes you have made look perfectly OK. Its a pity that Maya hasn't told us the line number that the syntax error is on.
Email me your uvlayout_open.mel file and I'll check if its been corrupted somehow.
Phil |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nuki
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Mar 2011
|
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have the same problem - the script works (with an incorrect path to UV Layout though) but as soon as i open/save the uvlayout_open.mel with notepad to fix the path, I get the syntax error. This happens even if I don't edit anything, so I assume it has something to do with the text files charset (utf-8, ANSI, unicode...). Which would be the correct charset to use for mel scripts? i assume unicode? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
headus Site Admin
Posts: 2899
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
|
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Excellent debugging! But unfortunately I don't know the answer; notepad with its default settings has always worked for me. I'd try all encodings until you found one that worked.
Phil |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nuki
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Mar 2011
|
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
I just did that - ANSI works perfect. I attatched the edited uvlayout_open.mel that should work for Wrangler as well to my post |
|
Back to top |
|
|
headus Site Admin
Posts: 2899
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
|
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Looks like mel scripts might be blocked for attachments, but anyway, your discovering the problem and the answer is all we need. I'll add a note to the install instructions.
Thanks again!
Phil |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Wrangler
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Location: Alexandria, VA, USA
|
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 9:05 am Post subject: Just using the script editor in Maya is all it took... |
|
|
Actually, I ended up solving this problem quite simply by just editing the script in Maya's script editor. The only reason I hadn't tried that first is because I had run into an issue editing another script in the editor, but that issue didn't apply to the UVLayout plug-in script, so I was able to edit it and save it in Maya, and now the plug-in works like a charm.
Thanks, though, to all who offered their advice and feedback on rectifying this vexing problem.
Scott |
|
Back to top |
|
|
headus Site Admin
Posts: 2899
Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
|
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the status update! I've never used maya's own editor, but it sounds like its probably a good recommendation. I'll update the install docs.
Phil |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|